Beatles catalog to reach Apple's iTunes by Valentine's Day?

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 74
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by digitalclips View Post

No what we are talking about, or I am, was to disagree with you that the Beatle's original recordings will not be able to sound great in the modern digital era due to compression or whatever limitations were around in the 60's.

My premise is by going back to the original master tapes (obviously not the very early stuff) and using modern technology they will be able to create amazing sounds. Let us wait and see shall we?

Like I said earlier, I am NOT an audio engineer, and I am not aware of what specific techniques they may use to clean up the original analog recordings that have less dynamic range than what digital recording offers today. Do you, if so, I'm here to learn, or if you have some links, I can read up on their methods myself, TIA.

OK, so while I'm not an audio engineer, I am a coastal engineer, and in that capacity I am quite familiar with data analysis, FFT methods, white noise, and S/N ratios of wave and motion capture data sets. I've been doing this type of work, the nuts and bolts if you will, for about 20 years. I am also familiar with digital filtering techniques, mostly the sine butterworth, but in general FIR and IIR digital filtering methods. This has over the years involved a lot of FORTRAN coding.

Now, my basic question is this; How does one go about removing broadband white noise (i. e. tape hiss) which exists throughout the frequency range containing the the signal of interest (i. e. the music)? Or more simply how does one restore information, that by it's nature is already lost through the initial analog recording process? Just curious, like I said I'm currently looking at some vexing MoCap data sets with low S/N ratios and I am looking for new techniques to remove the noise floor, TIA.
  • Reply 62 of 74