Next MacBook update a yawner; Ultra-portable to get 13-inch display

Comments

• Reply 121 of 238
    kolchakkolchak Posts: 1,398member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by blingem View Post

And finally, I think an apple ultra-portable would hurt the apple name with students. As a student, I have one computer, so it needs to be good. I cannot imagine owning this as my only computer. It's not meant for that anyways. Apple could really break the market with a happy medium.

So if Apple wants to break into the market of people who are rich as $h!t and fly around the world every day, be my guest. But please don't even think of selling this to a student or a processing power-hungry photographer.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by iDave View Post

Exactly. A MacBook that is a pound or so lighter and an inch or so smaller is all that's needed. Ultra portables are for a niche market and I doubt very many would sell, except to those who can afford a different computer for every need.

I really don't understand either of you. You're talking as if this is going to be the one and only laptop Apple will offer. You need a good laptop? Fine. Buy an MBP. Nobody said you couldn't. But don't go saying an ultraportable is worthless. And what's this "different computer for every need" baloney? There's no one computer that fits every need. The MBs and MBPs are all compromises, not powerful enough for power-hungry professionals but not really light enough to carry with you all day. The MBs aren't even really desktop replacements. You'd be surprised how many people actually have both a laptop and a desktop just because they don't want to compromise at home/work or on the go. You need to stop thinking just within the very limited confines of your own needs and desires.
  • Reply 122 of 238
    idaveidave Posts: 1,283member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kolchak View Post

You need to stop thinking just within the very limited confines of your own needs and desires.