Leopard Upgrade Experience

Comments

• Reply 121 of 171
    meelashmeelash Posts: 1,045member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by JS29 View Post

I am a fairly new Mac user so I have never done this before. I upgraded via DVD on Saturday. All went well until my iMac rebooted. It then froze at the blue screen just before the login window. I let it stay there for about an hour, then decided I had had enough. I called Apple, and they walked me through the following process:

Turn machine off - worked

Hold down "C" and turn machine on - worked

Set install preferences (archive and install) - worked

Continue through prompts to install - worked

Machine came online and all seem well. All 3 user accounts were still there with their preferences, desktop images, icons, shortcuts, email setting, messages etc... When I was on the phone with Apple, the tech support person (who was VERY difficult to understand) said I would need to do a recovery on my archived system settings. Do I need to do this? None of the 3 users of the machine, including myself have experienced any problems or missing data.

Can any of you mac experts please offer some guidance? Can I delete the archive, do I need to perform some kind of restore, should I do anything?

Thank a bunch!

Ummm.... from what I've read on these forums, I guess Leopard offers an option for restoring archived settings during the install. So my guess is that you clicked yes to that without even realizing it and that is why all your settings are restored already.

I would hang on to the Archive folder for a few months, just in case, especially if you have lots of free space. If you don't notice anything missing, by all means delete it.

(Did you check if all your applications are there, even the ones you installed yourself before upgrading?)
  • Reply 122 of 171
    js29js29 Posts: 44member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by meelash View Post