OSX.....Get a Book! Learn!

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 28
    kecksykecksy Posts: 1,002member
    Whar's metadata?
  • Reply 22 of 28
    OS X is great. At first I wasn't into it, but now I never want to go back to 9. I am a UNIX system Admin so im not scared to the Terminal and have rarly had to use it. OS X is a little more complicated than 9 for average users but most of the confusing stuff or not obviouse stuff like becomeing supper user, changeing permissions, configuring the fire wall, etc. are not things that an average Mac user would want or need to do anyway. The only time A friend of mine (average usr) needed some help was when he count trash some files. The permissions were set wrong. I gave him some commands and that was that.

I love OS X
  • Reply 23 of 28
    The 'Shared' directory (/Users/Shared/) is pretty odd with it's permissions.. if you put files there, only you can delete them... I have to sudo to get rid of other people's uploads which can be a pain.