iPhone SDK evidence Apple has learned from past mistakes

12346»

Comments

• Reply 101 of 111
    csimmonscsimmons Posts: 100member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dave K. View Post

I have not yet watch the keynote. I will though.

Historically, Apple wrote off the enterprise and the enterprise knows this. Their lack of any business sales strategy, their focus on consumer computers/gadgets, misdirected business software (FileMaker Pro and WebObjects) all contributed to this.

Now we are expected to believe Apple is going to get serious about the enterprise because of the iPhone.

Quite frankly, the SDK should have been made for Windows as well. If Apple is truly serious about the enterprise they need to do this (while they are at it, they also need to license out Mac OS X Server). I work in IT in an all Windows shop. People outside of IT don't realize how embedded the business world is with Windows...

I see the initial cost of iPhone development very prohibitive. You need to buy a iPhone, Mac, XCODE training (if there is even such a thing), maybe a XSERVE for deployment testing. Seems quite of a lot money just to test out an idea. You better have one hell of an idea.

Microsoft is pushing their Windows Mobile platform on your choice of hardware that interfaces very nicely with Visual Studio, .NET, Windows 2003 Server and other related enterprise products (e.g., SQL Server, Exchange, etc.).

Can Apple compete with this?

The so-called "choice of hardware" argument used by WM fans is getting really long in the tooth.

Apple already has 28% of the US smartphone market with just 1 device on 1 carrier and without any enterprise-ready features, and attained that share within a year of availablility. The iPhone is already competing with Windows Mobile, and doing extremely well at it.

You make it sound as if WM is somehow ubiquitous in the business world, where it clearly is not. Ask RIM