Informed players say Apple's Mac mini still kickin'

Comments

• Reply 61 of 159
    embeeembee Posts: 18member
    I'm not at all surprised by the business vs. consumer numbers.

I've been using two minis as web/mail/app servers for almost two years, now, and they've proved to be very reliable. Granted we've got fairly low traffic compared to enterprises, but I've had zero downtime that I didn't cause myself by my own UPS and firewall carelessness or during updates/upgrades. I've got a third mini that I bought at the same time that's just sitting there ready to switch over the moment anything fails. I just assumed I'd have trouble by now, but the original two been purring along.

All of that for 1/4 to 1/3 of an XServe. Not a solution for everybody, of course, but I'd hate to see these little guys EOLd.
  • Reply 62 of 159
    vineavinea Posts: 5,585member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Ireland View Post

I'd laugh if it was still dead

That's because you're a jerk.
  • Reply 63 of 159
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by dempson View Post

This would also mate nicely with the new 24" display.

I agree. Apple is great at strategy, integration and simplicity. The new 24" LED displays will come out in november and will feature iSight, speakers and a microphone. All those things are available on the MacBook, so the new display is obvioulsy aimed at more than just the laptops. And guessing that sales of the Mac Pro are rather small there has to be some other big seller on the way that can make use of these integrated features. Enter the Mac mini, which fits more perfect with the new 24" LED display than any other product.

It would seem appropriate to launch the new mini with the new display, but perhaps Apple wasn't ready with it but still wanted to introduce the new display with the MacBooks. So I'm waiting with high hopes for the next mini and it might just be a big seller - especially for businesses looking for that clean and stylish desk environment.