January figures suggests a recession-resistant Q2 for Apple

Comments

• Reply 21 of 42
    MacProMacPro Posts: 19,822member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Abster2core View Post

We surmise that when Snow Leopard comes, and better yet we start getting software updates that takes advantage of the multi-core processors and the new OS, our current Mac Pros will seem like Model T Fords.

I hope our current machines will become Ferraris because of the new OS!

I am hoping the upgrades will come fast as Apple will have made the work for the programmers who wrote to spec reasonably simple with a sort of 'multi core SDK' and they will be able to recompile to take advantage pretty easily. I also suspect there will be a quasi multi processor ability within the new OS to allow non compliant code take some advantage, sort of a Classic Mode if you will. I have no knowledge of anything I am saying , lol, just basing this on years of using Macs and how Apple tend to approach these things in the past. Add to that the Finder, if true multi core it may speed many operations up too.
  • Reply 22 of 42
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by teckstud View Post

Cool. First thing I do when I get home every night and weekends when I get up is turn on the iMac- which by the way I love along with Leopard. There I said it- can we all sing Kumbaya now?

In 8 part multi-core harmony .. oh wait we need Snow Leopard for that!

p.s So where do you work that forces PCs on you? Just curious
  • Reply 23 of 42
    Here's to an update to the iMac and Mini... But seriously, who thinks a 6% drop in profit is not red ink?!

For Apple to get any of my money in the next few quarters they need a non SIM-locked phone for the US market, a $100+ price drop on the MacBook, and rave reviews on the 17" MBP. Upgrade the mini and get the price $100 lower and I will put up another electronic sign in the office with a large LCD TV.
  • Reply 24 of 42
    mark2005mark2005 Posts: 1,158member
    Quote: