Apple releases public beta of Safari 4 browser

18910111214»

Comments

• Reply 261 of 278
    ivan.rnn01ivan.rnn01 Posts: 1,822member
    there's something wrong with marking AI threads read. Each time I return on the forum some definitely read topics are marked unread again

• Reply 262 of 278
    In general, I think Safari 4 beta is very nice. If you are a Firefox user who relies on extensions, it's not going to work for you. As a designer, I do think that WebKit is the nicest rendering engine and Nitro is certainly a nice JS engine. For personal use, it is my browser of choice. There are still times when I launch Firefox for for some necessary development related extension.

I give Mozilla all the credit in the world for creating that ecosystem, and I'm very glad it exists. However, even Firefox 3 is still not a proper OS X citizen IMO. FF3.1 beta is closer, but still not there. But they are progressing nicely.

The Google Chrome team has stated their intent to create a plugin framework, it will be very interesting to see if Safari adopts it.

On the OS citizen note, I'm very pleased that Safari 4 looks like a Windows app on Windows. This is how it should be. Safari 3 always felt very out of place on Windows. Applications should adopt the HIG of the OS.

My ideal world is the WebKit rendering engine, one of the cutting edge JS engines, plus extensions. Is that too much to ask?
  • Reply 263 of 278
  • Reply 264 of 278
    solipsismsolipsism Posts: 25,726member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ivan.rnn01 View Post

there's something wrong with marking AI threads read. Each time I return on the forum some definitely read topics are marked unread again

The threads are read until a post arrives, then it is not longer completely read. If you get email updates it will take you the first new post in the thread when you click the link.
  • Reply 265 of 278
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by solipsism View Post