Review roundup: New iMac display and redesigned chassis shine, audio a step back

Comments

• Reply 21 of 168
    Forgot to ask: how much tax are we talking about? And will you get that back on selling the 2x4GB RAM sticks?
  • Reply 22 of 168
    So much for asking everything in one post¡

Apple store tells me your config is $2749. Did you use a discount through AI?
  • Reply 23 of 168

Whether it's a TV or AIO, I've found that if you want decent sound, you need  external speakers. My M-Audio AV40 speakers more than make up for any deficiency in the built in speakers. :-)

• Reply 24 of 168
    solipsismxsolipsismx Posts: 19,566member
    philboogie wrote: »
    Nice config, but I truly believe some are better off, cheaper off, with a Mac Pro. Gosh, I'm starting to sound like a Mac Pro advocate, but if you're thinking it'll last you 'a couple of years' I might be right in the end.

I've been using a notebook as my primary machine for nearly 15 years so going to a desktop is a big step for me. A Mac Pro might be better but then I'd have to wait for that revision next year plus the new Apple Thunderbolt Displays, which I assume will be thin on the edges and will be announced with new AirPorts alongside the next Mac Pro (or whatever they call it).
    Still, sol, sir, enjoy your Mac. It's quite possible you'll post even quicker once its arrived! It does look incredibly cool and I will definitely take a thorough look at it at my local Apple Store.

Is that a good thing? I'm not so sure. lol

philboogie wrote: »
    Forgot to ask: how much tax are we talking about? And will you get that back on selling the 2x4GB RAM sticks?

I just checked and the taxes are estimated at $199.49 which turns out to be 7.8% sales tax. [edit: Bad calculation on my first post]