How to create your own HomeKit camera with a Raspberry Pi and HomeBridge

Comments

• Reply 41 of 73
    r1ckr1ck Posts: 1unconfirmed, member
    sorry total noob: how do i get the pi to boot to the gui?
  • Reply 42 of 73
    I had problem with the image too big for my 16 GB SD card too. It was listed as 15.93GB in Etcher. 

I followed the instruction here to use Disk Utility to create an iso image. 
    https://www.heavymetalcoder.com/copy-raspberry-pi-to-new-sd-card/

The image came out exactly 15.93 instead of 16.03, so I was able to use Etcher to flash it. 

chia
  • Reply 43 of 73
    SoliSoli Posts: 10,035member
    r1ck said:
    sorry total noob: how do i get the pi to boot to the gui?
    It's hard to know exactly where you're starting from, but odds are these instructions are what you're looking for.

• Reply 44 of 73
    horstehorste Posts: 3member
    Hi all!

Quite strange. When I first read this article I immediately went out to buy two  16GB SD-card. But then the first disappointment, when Etcher told me it was too small.
    So I run out again and got a 32GB SD-Card before the shop closed. So luckily I could install it.
    Then the first boot up, set keyboard to German etc. 
    But then the next disappointment, I could not get to show the video from the Raspi-Cam.
    I checked logs I found that node-js produces a segmentation fault.

pi@raspberrypi:/usr/bin $ node --version

Segmentation fault

Anybody an idea how to fix?

Maybe it has something to do with my Raspberry pi 2 Model B V 1.1 ?

edited April 2018
  • Reply 45 of 73
    Hi Andrew, Thanks for the turorial. 

I also had to use a 32GB sd card as some of the others have stated. When trying in Etcher to flash the 16GB card it said I did not have enough space. 15.8 something GB available. I found the reason that some of us were getting smaller space available.