What year of the laptop?

Comments

• Reply 41 of 94
    nofeernofeer Posts: 2,427member
    Quote:

Originally posted by manmadereality

Ok. I have to vent for a second about all you a** holes that say you know what students need. Not all students need a toy portable like the iBook. I am a grad student / professional studying and working in Electronic Intermedia (motion graphics, 3d, video, etc). When I work on my Dual 1.42 G4 2GB Ram and 3x120 GB hard drives I can spend 45 secs or longer rendering out 1 frame in After Effects. That is a long time to wait to see if you like an affect. Can you imagine how long a slower portable with less available ram would take? I know I am not a typical student but neither are the 45 students I graduated with or the 300 undergraduate students I will be working with over the next 3 years. Those numbers are just from the 2 state schools I am attending. Can you imagine how many students that are not typical like me just in the US that may need a faster portable? But oh you think all we need is something to type on, it would be crazy to think that any student might need something more professional to run things like after effects, maya, lightwave, final cut pro, avid, cinema 4d, etc, etc, etc. Think with some intelligence before you decide whats good for everybody in a group. Right now we are thinking about recommending more powerful PC portables to our students even though it breaks my heart.