iPod report boosts Apple shares to all-time high

Comments

• Reply 21 of 77
    I was fortunate to buy in the teens, as well. If I had had more money available, I would have been willing to risk it all, I was so certain this was going to happen.

It's not scientific by any means, but Apple is headed higher. There are things in the works for long term growth. BIG growth. Personally, I wonder what the data center they bought from MCI is for, and what will be housed on the new campus that's going to be built. They are confident in what's coming. So am I. Big time.
  • Reply 22 of 77
    bageljoeybageljoey Posts: 2,008member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by pena2050

I'm new to the investing game. How do you know when it's a trend or a spike?

Well, there is one foolproof method in three easy steps:

1) look at the current price and trend.

2) wait several years.

3) review the stock prices history.

Any other answer is guessing to some extent or another...
  • Reply 23 of 77
    BagelJoey-- Fool-proof? Really?

How about Lucent? Following its upswing in the late 90s, if you waited a few years, your investment could have dropped from almost $100 to $2.50. And in this case, history tells you nothing, except what you've lost. Or Apple-- price is high-ish, trend is up (good) and stock history is a tad scary, unless you ignore the 90s. Your formula has some aspects right, I think, but fool-proof? I'm not convinced.

Educated guessing is all there is. Your formula is the same sort of guessing, with your own favorite criteria-- I'd just personally advise against it being done this way. I hope it works for you, though. We all have our view. But, if this is yours, I'd bet there's more to it that you haven't explained. Not exactly disagreeing with you, but wondering what else plays into your equation...

Here's a bit of mine: