Steve Jobs says Apple must 'think big' with $40 billion in cash

Comments

• Reply 241 of 323
    solipsismsolipsism Posts: 25,726member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by JeffDM View Post

You're right. I know there is a business cycle, but some recessions seem to made even worse worse as self-fulfilling prophesies. I think one could be manufactured if you have enough "experts" on TV declaring that there is a recession imminent, that can spook people into making drastic changes. If only more people had some self-discipline and saved planned ahead when the times were good, a lot fewer people would have to take drastic measures when there's a downturn.

I agree that the media can magnify the effect, thus making things worse.
  • Reply 242 of 323
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,510member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Father View Post

I am an expert in ipod repair, including iphones and ipod touches. after the 3rd gen nano, ipods became uneconomically feasible to replace the battery - by design. Prove me wrong. 20,000+ posts dude? Somebody has a know-it-all complex. Get a life.

I don't have to prove you wrong. You have to prove you're right. We all know you're wrong. The companies who are making money on selling these batteries know you're wrong. You made the statement, you have to prove it. That's the way it works.
  • Reply 243 of 323
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by solipsism View Post

I agree that the media can magnify the effect, thus making things worse.

Blame the media? I don't think so, not really.

One of lessons from college economics that will stick with me forever was the rooster on Mt. Everest theory. If a rooster crowed on Mt. Everest, could that cause a depression? The answer is yes, if enough people believe it could. The moral of the story is that economics is fundamentally a behavioral science.
  • Reply 244 of 323
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by jfanning View Post