New hack could allow 'jailbroken' Apple iPads at launch

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 72
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Quadra 610 View Post

Got my words mixed up. Je m'excuse.

No biggie - I'm not a lawyer, but I'm surrounded by them in my work.

And you think EULAs suck?

Try getting a brief smack-down after violating existing specific (and arcane) federal regulations that detail how data is managed for anything being staged from terrestrial to orbit. A group I worked with caused the (chief) corporate attorney to run full gait down the hall to scream at us after we tapped into the uplink for a real-time tv-programming guide to mirror on the website.

(Went something like: hey! let's mirror the set-top box feed and create real-time programming updates for the users! - ya, that's simple - we'll just cache that stream over here ... {sounds of doppler affected yelling and several yards of running footfalls later we found out that's frowned-on})

Worked great that afternoon tho.
  • Reply 62 of 72
    pyrrhopyrrho Posts: 9member
    I was a Genius for two years, and this subject came up often. There's NOTHING IN THE APPLE WARRANTY THAT IS VOIDED BY JAILBREAKING, even if you walk up to a Genius bar with an obviously hacked phone. There's also NOTHING IN APPLE RETAIL STORE POLICY THAT CAN DENY SERVICE FOR A JAILBROKEN PHONE.

Sorry for the caps, but so many people seem to repeat this fallacy, AI's editors included, and it annoys the hell out of me. There are two relevant pieces of legalese that could refer to jailbreaking; these are in the software license agreement and in the hardware warranty.