HP's purchase of Palm could lead to WebOS tablets, netbooks

124»

Comments

• Reply 61 of 73
    zindakozindako Posts: 468member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by AsianBob View Post

Yes... Because Apple is the only one that can do anything right... /sarcasm and .

Yes, Apple actually is the only American company that can do anything right, if they made a car it would be the greatest invention known to man, and all the companies that have been making cars for the past 50 years would be trying to copy their design. I'm sorry but there's nothing wrong with you having allegiance to the 2nd best, just don't assume the rest of us have low expectation and taste like you do.
  • Reply 62 of 73
    mytdavemytdave Posts: 447member
    I think this is an awesome move. It gives me a glimmer of hope that someone at HP might be developing a bit of vision. I'm an IT admin, and in my book, HP is king of the server market, but they have languished in the consumer space... continually lackluster consumer products and failed strategies if you ask me.

But the prospects of WebOS on an HP tablet gives me great hope. I had already written off any HP tablets because of their dependence on Windows... Let's face it, Windows sucks when it comes to touch UI and low power mobile devices. Putting WebOS on the HP tablet would have me taking a serious look at it. The hardware resource demands would drop significantly under WebOS, allowing HP to build a slimmer, more efficient tablet. HP is also a company I think is willing to include the features that are Glaring Omissions in the Apple tablet, like a USB port and front facing camera.

I say bring it on! Apple needs some actual, real, viable competition in the mobile space. Windows doesn't and never will be able to compete here. It will take a WebOS or Android device to give any real competition to the iDevices. With HP behind it, I think WebOS could possibly stand a better shot at it than Android, if HP doesn't squander this opportunity.