Apple yanks widget apps, likely to add feature to iPhone OS 4

Comments

• Reply 101 of 176
    testortestor Posts: 1member
    I'm a developer for Apple and it's becoming a joke.

I've got a patch for my app that I've tried to submit back in January that has yet to be approved, each reason is random

I've had to send in screen shots of their developer pages to show them that I'm using documented methods...I've learend that the reviewers don't really read your emails, but pictures work well.

The process is completely random, it's now becoming funny.

If I had it to do over again I would have invested my time learning the Android platform.

I'll post updates to existing apps that I have, but I'm not wasting any more time developing new apps for the app store.

Apple didn't learn from the past, users want freedom and choice.

It's the reason apple failed in the past (Adobe's graphical suite was the only useful program on the Mac years ago, the major reason people bought Mac's, and now Apple's bashing the one company that kept them alive...nice)

Steve will eventually piss everyone off.

Lesson learned.
  • Reply 102 of 176
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by MacTel View Post

Ya know, I had no problem with Apple preventing apps from getting on for valid reasons but yanking them after the fact is a bit much. I'd be frustrated and discouraged if they did that to me. They are the gate keeper so they can throw apps out too but there's this fine line when innovation ceases to exist on a platform.

Spot-on, my friend.

This story is like ones we're reading almost every week now, where developers spend thousands or tens of thousands or, in the case of Adobe and other x-plat tools vendors, millions complying with Apple's rules, and then at the last minute Apple changes the rules without notice and destroys that developer's investment in their platform.

"Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me."