Apple iPad rival HP Slate sees demand fizzle at 9,000 units

123457»

Comments

• Reply 121 of 137
    onhkaonhka Posts: 1,025member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by lamewing View Post

I am a university student (Mathematics and Japanese).

Dragon Dictation isn't 100 percent accurate and does a mediocre job. You must copy/paste what you dictated and then fix all of the problems. It is often faster to just type on the iPad keyboard.

Drawing on an iPad pretty much requires wearing a glove so as not to activate the screen or damage whatever you are drawing...and it has no pressure sensitivity so you are limited to what you can do.

I don't want to type on the iPad, as a student I would like to lean back and take notes just like I do on a notepad instead of being bent over trying to type on that little keyboard. It is also simply more natural to write a mathematical equation than to try and type it or use some hodge-podge kludge of an app. I would much rather use something built into the OS verus relying on a 3rd party to provide a capability that should have been included in the beginning.

Having said all of this, the HP has one advantage over the iPad. The HP slate is an autonomous computer. The iPad could easily be autonomous, but Jobs decided that we should all be chained to iTunes if we want to use the iPad. THIS is the main reason that I walked away from the iPad.

So you don't have an iPad?

So you haven't used Brushes? Perhaps you should tell Kyle that you have to wear a glove. Perhaps you should watch Lambert's video. Or are you better than he is?

Dragon Diction on the iPhone or iPad is amazing. Sure you have to proofread, but if you are trying to tell me that you don't don't have to when you handwrite your notes on your PC is bullshit.