Google sets sights on enterprise, education with subscription 'Chromebooks'

1131415161719»

Comments

• Reply 361 of 372
    firefly7475firefly7475 Posts: 1,502member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dick Applebaum View Post

In your other posts, I was (and still am) unsure of your reference to "indexed DB". I am new to Chrome and Google Docs and not familiar with its structure/implementation. I made a mental note to research "indexed DB" in Google's usage.

"Indexed DB" is just the new way for HTML 5 applications to store offline content as "Web SQL" has been discontinued. Basically it is (or will be) how HTML 5 applications save their offline state (so it's not just a Google thing).

Think of it as an advanced method of HTML cookies!

I was contemplating the possibility of Google simply syncing this "Indexed DB" state between logon sessions (potentially on separate devices) but I don't think that would work as this DB may store large amounts of temporary data.

I think, to ensure a consistent user experience, Google will need to implement another API into a user’s Google account for 3rd party applications to store content and settings that can be synced between Chrome OS sessions.

I read through your test results and it looks like I came to the same conclusion that you did!

That's not to say I don't think Google can get this right. As long as they don't give up on ChromeOS (as jragosta mentioned above).

However the problem Google are trying to solve isn't unique to Google. The basic goal is to change a user’s digital life from being device-centric to cloud-centric.

That doesn't necessarily mean "hosted in the cloud", but more "synced to the cloud". So that all the stuff you own is available on all devices you own, instead of being centred on one device.

This is the essence of "post PC" and something both Apple and Microsoft are also working toward.