Apple announces new iPad with 3.1M-pixel Retina Display, 4G LTE, voice dictation

Comments

• Reply 221 of 445
    dick applebaumdick applebaum Posts: 12,527member

Keynote's up:

Video quality is amazing... best I've seen for a keynote.

http://events.apple.com.edgesuite.ne...ent/index.html

• Reply 222 of 445
    charlycharly Posts: 5member
    I've been ordering from the Apple Store on-line for six years almost every time a new product comes out. Today was the longest wait I've ever had. Salesperson said it was busiest she had ever seen it. I got a 64GIG IPAD 3 with 4G, and a 32GIG IPAD 3with WIFI. I'm actually blown away by all the improvements. I do wish they had one with 128GIG.
  • Reply 223 of 445
    rednivalrednival Posts: 331member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by anantksundaram View Post

There's no need for an apology!

I don't know what the facts are either, but I don't think it's as categorical as "it's booked as a sale if it's on Best Buy's shelves". If that were the case, we'd see a lot more discounting on these products when a new one is introduced, no?

Not necessarily. The agreements would probably dictate the price they can resell an iPad for. Best Buy has to stick to whatever terms they agreed to.

The agreements Apple has with retailers are more like that. They specify things where iPads are in the store, how much they can or cannot sell them for, how they are displayed, and stuff like that.

In return, Best Buy gets a per-arranged price that they can pay Apple for iPads. Incidentally, that is one reason it took the original iPad a while to appear on store shelves. Apple had to prove it would sell before they made agreements.

Like I said, this is how it how it normally works. I could be wrong and someone with more experience in retail can correct me if I am wrong.
  • Reply 224 of 445
    alienzedalienzed Posts: 393member
    Pre-ordered!
  • Reply 225 of 445
    anantksundaramanantksundaram Posts: 20,404member
    Quote: