CES 2013 expected to showcase 'embarrassingly large' smartphones

Comments

• Reply 81 of 213
    majjomajjo Posts: 574member
    jeffdm wrote: »
    I know a lot of people that have the 4.7" phones and it doesn't seem to be a problem. It might be if they keep trying to get larger.
    I don't hold my phone to my face anymore when making or taking calls, if that's what you mean "hold it like a phone". I've been using Bluetooth headphones for a couple years now. I find it's a lot more comfortable than holding a brick to my face, however small and light it may be, and it sounds a lot better too. Currently, my "brick" is an iPhone 4.
    I wonder to what degree that is true. I know quite a few people that make plenty of calls with smart phones.

I recently went from a 3.5 inch to a4.7 inch phone. It did feel awkward for the first few days, but after about a week, I didn't notice the increase in size anymore.

I've found that most of the complaints people have about large phone to be false. I wear khakis and dress pants most days and have no issue slipping the phone into my pockets.

I can operate the phone with no issue using one hand; granted I have to shift it a bit to reach the far top corner, but ive never found a reason to have to do that. I can reach the top center easily, and I only do that to swipe down notifications anyways.

Im absolutely comfortable holding the phone up to my ear. This hasn't been a issue from day 1.

Honestly I was one of those that thought 4.0 inches was the perfect size and anything bigger than 4.3 would be unusable. I was dead wrong.

Regarding the 5 inch screens, the other party of those rumors is that it is with an edge to d edge screen, at least on the Samsung side. That should allow it to fit in the same footprint as a4.7 or so, so I think they will be perfectly usable, if true, of course.
  • Reply 82 of 213
    mytdavemytdave Posts: 447member