Intel makes 'Thunderbolt 2' official with 20Gbps speeds, late 2013 launch

Comments

• Reply 21 of 137
    wizard69wizard69 Posts: 13,377member
    You think Apple was caught off guard by Thunderbolt 2? /s

Do you seriously think Intel and Apple don't talk? I wouldn't be surprised to find that Apple hardware has been used in the development process as it was for TB1.
  • Reply 22 of 137
    feynman wrote: »
    Now we know when the new MacPro will be out...

You should talk to the guy that posted just before you.
  • Reply 23 of 137
    geekdadgeekdad Posts: 1,131member

Quote:

Originally Posted by scotty321 View Post

Because Thunderbolt 1 was such a hit! (Rolls eyes)

yeah...it one more thing no one has an affordable accessorie for....

• Reply 24 of 137
    oflife wrote: »
    The mini DisplayPort / Thunderbolt connector is not really that good. I have a 2011 MBA 13" connected to a superb Dell monitor via DisplayPort, but the plug that goes into the MBA is not as well thought out as say Lightening, and likewise, the large connector that plugs into the monitor (looks like an HDMI with only one chamfered corner) is very very difficult to unplug.
    Actually for TB you don't want a connector that could unplug easily. TB is designed to connect to monitors and disk drives as such it needs to be reliable not intermittent or easily disconnected. That is why I agree with you about the Mini TB connector, it just doesn't inspire a feeling of reliability, especially if you are connecting a back up array of some sort.
    It is a pity the industry could not agree on the anyway up Lightening connector for Thunderbolt and use it to usurp the ageing and not very imaginative USB connectors.