Google to once again challenge Apple TV with Android-based set-top streamer, report says

Comments

• Reply 21 of 50
    undefined
  • Reply 22 of 50
    andysolandysol Posts: 2,506member
    gregquinn wrote: »
    I can't believe all the knee- jerk fanboy bashing of google here. With a low price point, an android tv stb has the potential to fracture apple's ecosystem because folks will be buying games and other apps for it. I'm an iOS developer but I've played around with android tv sticks for the past few years and there's huge potential. Apple have procrastinated opening up appletv to the point of being reckless - Apple TV should have had access to the App Store years ago, and there could have been a huge bigger user base now. Instead of bashing google, suggest bashing apple for being too slow taking appletv forward.
    Really? Which android tv "stick"? There been so many. Could you imagine developing for them only to have them pull the plug a year later? Pathetic. Knee jerk would have been on the first, maybe 2nd iteration. This is the fourth in four years!

And my criticism isn't unique to google. Go to the most recent Apple TV thread and you'll see plenty of valid criticisms- mine included. But give me a slow-to update streamer that is consistently supported and updated over a new product every turn of the calendar with no support and complete abandonment. It's a no contest.
  • Reply 23 of 50
    Odo - you almost had me there. For a minute, I thought you called it a "steaming box."
  • Reply 24 of 50
    maestro64maestro64 Posts: 5,043member

Google is really taking to the heart the concept that your have will lots of failures before you have a success.

• Reply 25 of 50
    crowley wrote: »
    Not really sure what the point in malware on a TV would be.  What would they steal, your recording schedule?