Apple drops Helvetica for San Francisco in iOS 9

Comments

• Reply 21 of 118
    mstonemstone Posts: 11,510member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Silver Shadow View Post

Exactly, why make a big deal about it when almost no one will notice.

It is better. Sweating the details is what makes Apple DNA. The Helvetica Thin was just a little too thin and slightly incompatible the other styles they had incorporated into iOS 8. The opacity, blurs and varied backgrounds such as in the weather app made some text difficult to read. Just a small tweak but a welcome one in my opinion.

• Reply 22 of 118
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Larz2112 View Post

When I was a graphic designer there was an unspoken rule that no type gets set under 8 pts if you really expect anyone to read it. 

I learned typography many years ago from some of the masters of Madison Ave. and the unspoken guideline was always 6 pt. not 8 pt, and a common output on Linotype 100 was 1200 dpi compared to 400+- on iPhone. That said there is type, even in Apple native apps, that is close to 4 pt. Way too small.

• Reply 23 of 118
    joe28753joe28753 Posts: 82member
    Quote:

Originally Posted by BoC View Post

Toyota used to make their designers wear glasses smeared with vaseline to let them see if they could operate controls inside of Toyota vehicle mockups.

Maybe they shouldn't be driving if they can't see?

• Reply 24 of 118
    quadra 610quadra 610 Posts: 6,757member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Silver Shadow View Post

I can't tell the difference. What's the point?

From what I understand you change something because there's a noticeable difference.

Branding, and "Apple's own", so to speak. 

Additionally, it ties together other iOS devices with the Watch UI font. It's for consistency's sake. 

San Fran is a little thicker then Helvetica Neue. Not a bad thing. I'd say it's a better fit in terms of readability. 

• Reply 25 of 118
    bocboc Posts: 72member