The high-end 27-inch iMac is more 'pro' than the iMac Pro is

2»

Comments

• Reply 21 of 39
    elijahgelijahg Posts: 2,753member

Let me know when it’s as easy to replace iMac components as the Mac Pro. That’ll never happen with this current case design.
    There's no reason it can't be almost as easy as the Mac Pro, but Apple has intentionally designed it to be difficult. There's no need to glue the screen on, they could use magnets as they did with the pre-2012 models, hell the bezel is big enough. Even the Apple techs don't like working on them, I had an issue with my 2012 one about 3 months in (noisy PSU) and the Apple Store just replaced the entire machine rather than the hassle of taking it to bits. Ridiculous. 
    SpamSandwichcgWerks
  • Reply 22 of 39

Let me know when it’s as easy to replace iMac components as the Mac Pro. That’ll never happen with this current case design.
    And is not its use case. Different machines for different use cases. I’m a pro user (software devs are Apple largest pro market per Craig) and have little need for a tower or swappable components. Simply does not matter to me. 

Great, and what about Macs that need service? There's a lot more to it than just your specific use case, whether it be "pro" or not.   Doesn't mean Apple has to intentionally make it hard to service. 
    edited August 2020 muthuk_vanalingam
  • Reply 23 of 39
    canukstormcanukstorm Posts: 2,694member
    elijahg said:

And is not its use case. Different machines for different use cases. I’m a pro user (software devs are Apple largest pro market per Craig) and have little need for a tower or swappable components. Simply does not matter to me. 

Great, and what about Macs that need service? There's a lot more to it than just your specific use case, whether it be "pro" or not.   Doesn't mean Apple has to intentionally make it hard to service. 
    Apple's solution is to take it in to Apple Retail or an Apple Authorized Service Provider
    watto_cobra