New PowerBooks tomorrow.

Comments

• Reply 201 of 873
    g5powerg5power Posts: 18member
    Quote:

Originally posted by Anders

HELLO

How the hell did this thread become fcuking 5 pages long?

This thread is so long for two reasons that i can see:

1. all we have is rumors and speculation. apple's security this time around is SOOOO good! have you noticed - no leaks, no pictures, no specs. just the clues from product run-out, powerbook prices reducing, some models available "7-10 days" etc. something is definitely up.

2. a model update is over due. last 15" update was November (8 months) and other models Jan 7th (6 months now). there are a lot of people expecting an update waiting to buy...
  • Reply 202 of 873
    baumanbauman Posts: 1,248member
    OK, I went digging through IBM's website, and found this pdf, but it is from (I believe) the Microprocessor Forum of 2002. Of particular interest is this image, on page 14:

Now, I'm not an expert on processors, but could it really more than double for a jump of about 10% in speed? Seems rather unlikely.
  • Reply 203 of 873
    Quote:

Originally posted by chazmox

You stated above that "The Dual system probably does indeed run at 97 watts... total for 2 processors." Since this quote seems to be based on certain knowledge, do you have references to back that up besides the marketing document?

the references for [email protected] i've seen are:

www-3.ibm.com/chips/techlib/techlib.nsf/techdocs/A2CE393ABF2CE99787256D21006AE8A2/$file/PPC970_MPF_Review.pdf

www-3.ibm.com/chips/techlib/techlib.nsf/techdocs/A1387A29AC1C2AE087256C5200611780/$file/PPC970_MPF2002.pdf

http://arstechnica.com/cpu/02q2/ppc970/ppc970-1.html
  • Reply 204 of 873
    dhagan4755dhagan4755 Posts: 2,152member
    I would love to come home tomorrow afternoon to something like this:

Quote:

From C|Net:

Apple unveils new PowerBooks