Apple to serve as regulator for iPhone app distribution

Comments

• Reply 61 of 141
    If this is true it will be bad for small company developers like myself. Hope it isn't true. No problem with itune distribution, but I find it hard to believe that they will judge which apps are worthy like a bunch of nazi's. I do not think this will happen, but you never know. They make smart decisions and really stupid decisions at apple.
  • Reply 62 of 141
    crebcreb Posts: 276member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by stevetim View Post

No problem with itune distribution, but I find it hard to believe that they will judge which apps are worthy like a bunch of nazi's.

They already are, and if some of the Apple shrills will come forth they will admit to it (fat chance of that happening). No, I am not a developer I just know many a developer. I would not call Apple Nazis though, just too much Big Brother. Lords of Rings comes to mind...precious.
  • Reply 63 of 141
    teckstudteckstud Posts: 6,476member
    All this ranting and raving! Thank god 1G iPhone is one of the few Apple products I don't own.

Think about it- ever since it's been launched all I hear are people bitching and whining!
  • Reply 64 of 141
    nasseraenasserae Posts: 3,167member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Louzer View Post

Sorry, but there is no way to scan a program for a trojan. An address book type app would of course use APIs to get data from the address book and to send emails. But what can Apple check to make sure there's no sending email to nefarious spammers? Stick in a time delay for this to happen, and Apple won't even see it as traffic on the network, most likely.

Please read correctly. I said you don't have to go through the source code to make sure there are no trojans or viruses, there are many ways to avoid them. Apple may accept only "trusted" developers though iTunes. I don't think Microsoft, IBM, google.. etc will be embedding their software with trojans or viruses.