Apple releases iOS 4 for iPhone, iPod touch

Comments

• Reply 121 of 257
    docno42docno42 Posts: 3,755member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by super8sean View Post

I am a app developer and apples techs thoroughly explained the background processes to us.

NOW HEAR THIS!!!!!!!!!!:Apps in the background do not use up power or resources. They are in a suspended state.

Perhaps, but with Navigon loaded my phone is sluggish. If I kill it, all is well. There it is.

Otherwise, I agree - it's pretty slick.
  • Reply 122 of 257
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by user23 View Post

on my latest gen. iPod touch I noticed (with the iOS 4 update) it now has "airplane mode" for some reason. Seems redundant when I normally just switch Wi-Fi off.

Airplane kills wifi and bluetooth as apposed to wifi only?
  • Reply 123 of 257
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by whitey View Post

Theres no settings for MMS in the settings menu for Messages.

So is MMS working or no?
  • Reply 124 of 257
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by str1f3 View Post

Even though the first model was a luxury device

It's only a "luxury device" to internet wags who are either unwilling or unable to understand that there are many kinds of needs in this world, and it's perfectly OK for devices to exist that don't meet their specific needs.

For my father who normally eschews computers due to their inherit complexity and generally being a pain in the a$$ and my best friends mother with severe arthritis that the touch interface on the iPad pretty much negates, the iPad is the perfect primary device.

I guess when your whole schtick revolves around PC's, all the problems in the world are PC shaped nails that a general purpose computer is required to solve.

The success of the iPad proves otherwise

Quote: