Apple pitches $30 a month iTunes TV subscriptions - report

Comments

• Reply 161 of 188
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by AppleInsider View Post

and all content providers are worried that advertising revenue could decrease if live viewership shrinks.

Surely the content providers do not care - it's the cable networks who put the advertising in isn't it - not the people who make the programme?

My background is in theatre production, and I've thought for quite a while that the whole area of film/tv production needs a major revamp - at the moment the content we see is too beholden to the distributor/cable-network and hence the advertiser.

If a TV programme costs US$500K an episode (eg: ITV's "wire in the blood" was reported as GBP750K for a 1.5 hour 'episode') then a veiwership of 5M people wont attract enough advertisers to cover the cost for the network - but if 1/20th that number are willing to pay $2 you can still make it - the production company makes the same money either way, but with the latter there is content on offer that cable networks and advertisers would censor - oh I mean 'not find profitable'. The hurdle to overcome is the investment - it takes a lot of $$$'s to get good programming started, and cable networks offer that guarantee for 18-20 episodes a season.

With a real revolution in content distribution and a living room device to access it globally (not just domestic USA) then people looking for scripted entertainment/drama and independent content producers (not just myspace amateurs) could flock to it.

I don't see how any of this helps those looking for F1, Football, Basketball, BigBrother or any other live action entertainment - which let's face it - is where cable really makes its money - I know in Australia they only provide any non-sport programming because of government regulation (and the patronising but obligatory 'but honest honey I didn't just get it for me - you and the kids can watch it too').
  • Reply 162 of 188