39% of BlackBerry owners say they'd switch to an iPhone

Comments

• Reply 61 of 100
    rob55rob55 Posts: 1,291member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Tomfoolery View Post

If only it were that simple.

Yeah, I know. I was just daydreaming

AT&T uses GSM, which is by far the most common technology for mobile devices in the world. I think something like 80 percent of mobile networks run on GSM worldwide. That's why Apple can sell the iPhone all over the planet. T-Mobile also uses GSM, so in theory you could get your iPhone to work on the T-Mobile network with the right SIM chip....

I'm no wireless expert, by far. But if you made me place a bet, I'd say the odds are 60 percent there will be a new iPhone in late June/early July, but that it will still be GSM-only. It may be carrier unlocked, so it can work on T-Mobile and the thousand and one regional GSM networks in the US, but it won't be dual-standard. I give it a 40 percent chance that Apple will break their three-year tradition and not release a new iPhone this summer at all, just new software for all iPhones.

But I'd say the odds are very high ? virtually certain ? that there will be a dual-standard iPhone in 2011, maybe as early as the first quarter. Apple just has to wait for the chip manufacturers to get their technology working and shipping on a large scale.

But what do I know. I'm just a guy on the Internet.

Do you really think there's a 40% chance Apple will skip a new iPhone model this summer? I don't know about that. I think in all likelihood, we'll see a gen 4 iPhone this June/July right on schedule.
  • Reply 62 of 100
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Jerseymac View Post

No physical keyboard, no tethering and stuck with AT&T?

Baloney. I have an iPhone and I'm not getting another one. No matter how much koolaid I ingest, I can't justify a smart phone that can't make phone calls.

I'll be first in line when apple partners with a provider that has coverage where I live and work.