Inside Mac OS X 10.7 Lion: New Dock, Finder & Desktop

Comments

• Reply 81 of 142
    stuffestuffe Posts: 394member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by JakeTheRock View Post

But I stand by my original points: probably 90% of apps do not need to be full-screen on a Mac, ever. Apple should focus on adding features like Hyperdock's window-arranging features, or a multitude of other things that I can't think of right now, before adding a useless full-screen iCal, or a redundant Launchpad.

I work in the IT field at a big university. I help these people every day, and I know exactly how they use computers. I also know that very few people are willing to try to figure out how to do anything by themselves, and I never said anything to the contrary. People should learn how to use their computers though.

I think that whilst the majority of apps don't need it, the 10% that do need it need it to work well, consistently, quickly and easily for everyone. And please try not to put your own usage requirements forward as equal to everyones, I for one have 7 calendars including shared ones from friends/family and I use it *a lot*, when I "diary bash" every couple of months or so to set my schedule I need to see as much detail as possible to check when I can and can't arrange things, and a full screen calendar on a large screen is great. I've tried it on Lion, and I love it.

Also, you work with young students in a University. So that's a whole load of people who have likely grown up using computers, and who most likely need to use their computers more often, and for more complex tasks, than a lot of other people. If you think these people are bad at actually learning to use them properly, go see my Mum. These are the people who need the most help, and if adding stuff like full screen and gestures allows them to feel they can use the computer better, I am all for it. Unless they start taking away your keyboard and shortcuts, I can't see any issue.
  • Reply 82 of 142
    Quote: