radiohead kicks ass.

1235»

Comments

• Reply 81 of 88
    Quote:

Originally posted by MarcUK

Mick Mars - completely underrated as a guitarist, I dont know of any other guitarist that sounds like him, it has a kind of quirkyness too it, but there is a kind of raw, unpolished diamond in his style, sound and performance, like the solos in Piece of your action, there just totally raw and rude. I dont think any of the other big guitarist from that era sound like him, or would want too!, just Micks style, rude, raw and kind of a professional amateurish. But these songs just dont appear to be dated.

there is apparently an earlier version of the album "too fast for love" that the crue themselves prefer...i've always wanted to hear that...

as for Mick Mars, he's was great in that most guitarist at that time where speed/EVH/Yngwie wannabees and he was playing slide guitar and tuned down to D...he's not a good guitarist as much as he has his own style, which took alot of balls in those hair band/flash guitar styles of the 80's...
  • Reply 82 of 88
    marcukmarcuk Posts: 4,442member
    Quote:

Originally posted by iDebaser

there is apparently an earlier version of the album "too fast for love" that the crue themselves prefer...i've always wanted to hear that...

as for Mick Mars, he's was great in that most guitarist at that time where speed/EVH/Yngwie wannabees and he was playing slide guitar and tuned down to D...he's not a good guitarist as much as he has his own style, which took alot of balls in those hair band/flash guitar styles of the 80's...

agreed, Mick did sound unique, I always preferred quality musicianship over flash speed styles, Mick can play fast though - did you ever hear them cover Evh's hot for teacher, or DC's shake a leg, perhaps he just prefers a good tune?

I have a feeling (or hope) some of the earlier 'too fast' might be what is coming on the new album
  • Reply 83 of 88
    brilliant!