'Dramatic changes' to Apple's iOS 7 said to include Calendar, Mail app overhauls

Comments

• Reply 41 of 139
    gazoobeegazoobee Posts: 3,754member

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rogifan View Post

... I mean how many of the posters on AI, MR, etc. have a degree in software engineering or design?

Well, we are all anonymous though so how would you know?  I have a degree in Industrial Design, but you may or may not believe me and no one seems to listen to me when I post about design issues anyway.  image

• Reply 42 of 139
    techguy911techguy911 Posts: 269member

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichL View Post

Looking forward to the Mail redesign. The current Mail app's search functionality is dreadful.

The problem with searching is the iPhone doesn't really have the power or storage to hold your entire email account like a desktop could.  The GMail app works better because it can directly interact with Google to do server based searches and return results.  Maybe it works better with iCloud EMail since it's better integrated.  Not sure if there is a search in the IMAP protocol , but that might be an option if providers support it.

• Reply 43 of 139
    richlrichl Posts: 2,213member
    techguy911 wrote: »
    The problem with searching is the iPhone doesn't really have the power or storage to hold your entire email account like a desktop could.  The GMail app works better because it can directly interact with Google to do server based searches and return results.  Maybe it works better with iCloud EMail since it's better integrated.  Not sure if there is a search in the IMAP protocol , but that might be an option if providers support it.

My entire mailbox is about 8GB. Remove the attachments and its likely to be less than 300MB uncompressed. My iPhone has 64GB of storage. I've also always found iOS's database performance to be great - even with large databases.