Timeframe for next PowerMac?

Comments

• Reply 21 of 294
    My guess is all PowerMacs will be 970MP dual core, PCI X announced in August. I suppose that the iMacs would get the current lineup of PM chips. If any of you really think that Apple could sustain sales of the current lineup until Intel, you have to be crazy! They can't just sit on all the current line ups until Intels start to ship.... They can't ship intels until there is software to run on them, and as a professional artist I wouldn't buy an Intel machine until Adobe apps are stable on the MacIntels. When you use your machine to pay the bills you don't want an experiment in tech to get your work done on. time is money...

just my 2 cents!
  • Reply 22 of 294
    aplnubaplnub Posts: 2,605member
    Quote:

Originally posted by namachtag

My guess is all PowerMacs will be 970MP dual core, PCI X announced in August. I suppose that the iMacs would get the current lineup of PM chips. If any of you really think that Apple could sustain sales of the current lineup until Intel, you have to be crazy! They can't just sit on all the current line ups until Intels start to ship.... They can't ship intels until there is software to run on them, and as a professional artist I wouldn't buy an Intel machine until Adobe apps are stable on the MacIntels. When you use your machine to pay the bills you don't want an experiment in tech to get your work done on. time is money...

just my 2 cents!

A double dual core machine would get me in a powermac a lot faster than a single dual core intel box.

I wonder if Apple does use the dual core version will they use one or two of the dual core units in the next powermac?
  • Reply 23 of 294
    lividlivid Posts: 3member
    Do you still think 970MP PowerMacs will ship before the end of the year?
  • Reply 24 of 294
    Quote:

Originally posted by Livid