Apple quietly refreshes iMac line, now up to 3.06GHz

Comments

• Reply 261 of 362
    This glossy vs. matte screen debate will never end, it's like a political or religious debate. That being said I can see the benefits of both. I am a graphic designer by trade so the visual elements of my machines are important. I have a matte screen on my MBP which is fine by me because it is what I have always used. On the other hand I have the 24" glossy screen on my imac and I love it. If the new imacs would have come with a glossy vs. matte option I would have opted for the glossy.

I have never had a problem with excessive glare or reflection, I suspect those that do are working directly in front of an open window or below an intense light source. Once you key in on the reflections I'm sure it is hard to become numb to them. I imagine it being comparable to listening to a presentation and noticing the speaker saying "umm" after every third word...once you key in on it you can't help but be annoyed.
  • Reply 262 of 362
    melgrossmelgross Posts: 33,600member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Mastersonics View Post

Hi Mel

I'll be doing up to 32 channels in Pro Tools and Logic 8

will be using Reason 4 with Waves and URS plugins.

what you think?

thanks,

Charles

While I did work in 8 channels a while ago with PPC G4 machines using Waves, and had no problems, I'm not personally familiar with the URS product.

I have also done 16 channels in Pro Tools on my dual 2 GHz G5 Powermac, also with Waves, and other products, also without a problem.

I've found that those I know are using Pro Tools with 24 and more channels with some heavy mods, and are doing it with dual, and four core Intel Mac Pro's without any difficulties, but 8 GB is the norm.

I do think that 32 channels might be pushing the 2.4 GHz product. It's difficult to say if the faster machines would be good here.