Apple introduces Penryn-based MacBooks and MacBook Pros

Comments

• Reply 141 of 423
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ARCH1971 View Post

Hi! A quick one: I am new to Apple (not counting my Apple IIe beginnings anymore ), and I have been waiting for this(? hmmm) MBP 15" refresh to finally join the Apple community. Now this refresh comes with a larger graphic card option (512MB) memory...

QUESTION:

Besides the topic whether I would really need so much graphic power (probably not immediately), I am wondering whether the 512 vs. 256MB option will have a noticeable impact on a) battery life of the MBP (since battery life matters quite a bit to me); and b) whether these heat issues that scare the hell out of me would even be worse with the higher end graphic card?

Thanks so much for helping me with the last open question on pro/cons 256<=>512

one piece of advice, if you are running heavy graphic programs, chance are you are not running it with battery.

that being said, i used the 256 vram, and if im running photoshop, it takes a lot of battery life. Btw, MBP is famous for having a low battery life. I would say with certainty, that it will be below your expectation.
  • Reply 142 of 423
    solipsismsolipsism Posts: 25,726member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by mzaslove View Post

That looks odd. Where'd you get the 200GB 5400RPM data from? Isn't the 200GB a 7200RPM drive?

Are you suggesting that the 2.2 to 2.4GHz Santa Rosa should cost more than the 2.4 to 2..5Ghz Penryn upgrade because the clockspeed is only half as much? If so, I've got a 3.0GHz Celeron I'll sell you for the same price as the 2.6GHz Penryn.
  • Reply 143 of 423
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ecking View Post

Holy shit this is getting insane DVD is now going to be the dying format and the base macbook is still has a combo drive. What a fucking joke.

Can you offer good reasons why it needs to have a DVD burner in it? If I could get a MBP with a Combo drive, I would.