Mwsf What's Coming Up?

Comments

• Reply 41 of 93
    As a developer I don't see the Powerbook has been the first to be powered by an Intel processor.

Why?

Because there would be very few software for it!

Only the biggest software developer have chosen to rent an Intel Developer Transition Kit. With a Mac mini they will have a Intel Mac to BUY.

It's also a strong signal to the developer community: Intel Mac are here! It's now! They need to bring onboard not only the big names in development but all the small one (including those involved in Open Sources projects).

That's the main reason why I see the Mac mini has becoming the first Mactel computer.

Also, the Mac mini doesn't a case redesign (it has only one year old), doesn't need that every software be ported to it to be successful.

It's also a computer that could gain a lot to be powered by Intel: the mini is aim at switcher and an Intel processor will enable the installation of an Windows OS onto it.

And last, a mini need less tweaking in the power managment area compare to a notebook.

For all these reasons, I really do think that a Mac mini could come first (Q1 2006) followed by the iBook and Powerbook. As a professional notebook, the Powerbook has more need of strong native software support.
  • Reply 42 of 93
    jcgjcg Posts: 777member
    The number one thing for Apple to do in San Francisco is to demo a pre-release version of OS X along with an Intel Mac that will be ready for the market soon, and hopefully give a few more details on the transition so that developers, customers, and investors know a little more about the plan to make informed decisions. Also parade a few developers out to show off their ported applications.

I don't think that we will see an Intel Mac shipping in January, but I think that by March/April the Mac Mini and possibly the iBook will be.