Blu-ray special features coming to App Store

Comments

• Reply 81 of 166
    brucepbrucep Posts: 2,823member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Carmissimo View Post

Except that you want to have a physical copy of a file, in addition to having it stored on an HD as a precaution. DVD simply isn't good enough for that function now that the files coming off some video recording devices is so massive. My hybrid camera, for instance, produces huge files and I'd just as soon have something with more capacity to work with. The DVDs I'm burning my files onto are piling up.

Blu-Ray has a place in an HD work flow for the average consumer who is into shooting video. Even if the distribution of professional material is more popular through other means, there is still a point to having a higher capacity optical storage option available for personal use. I assume that DRM is simply not an issue when you're burning your own material but I'm no expert on that subject. I would certainly not be comfortable with having my files stored exclusively on a device that could quite easily fail, taking my video files with it. I realize that optical media is far from secure but having files stored in a variety of forms is a smart thing to do. Putting all your faith in a single storage option is playing Russian Roulette with your memories. It's irreplaceable stuff that becomes far more valuable with age.