Apple to target iPad at business users through new features - sources

Comments

• Reply 161 of 282
    nagrommenagromme Posts: 2,834member
    Tablets have always seen their greatest success in the enterprise?for a variety of niche applications. But I bet those stylus devices cost a lot more than $499! Custom in-house apps for iPad will be awesome for so many things.
  • Reply 162 of 282
    antkm1antkm1 Posts: 1,441member
    It's funny. These new features (i.e. printing to a network, network file retreival) that's exactly what i've been complaining that the iPad doesn't have that i wish it did. Hopefully these features will make it to the consumer version and not just the Enterprise. I'm curious how that's going to work if it's all through iTunes?

However. I think the lack of thinking that this iPad could replace the physical paper notepad with a handy addition of an Apple stylus and handwriting recognition built into iNotes would be very cool! I'm an architect and using the iPad as a sketching tool for field work and meeting would be excellent! Plus if the stylus could work in Acrobat files to make notes and draw things it would be such a huge addition to the architect's palette!

Hope someone writes an App for it, give SJ's hatred of the stylus, we'll probably never see Apple make one.
  • Reply 163 of 282
    Someone was dismissing the iPad on a Facebook post as just a bunch of hype over a device that was not really a "gap filler", but one for a "niche market" only. I mostly disagree.

There WAS a lot of hype. However, the company's recent history of producing products which fill gaps quite well is pretty good right now. When they produce a product, it appears that whatever it is called... "gap filler" or "niche device", it tends to be accepted pretty well. So, I'm sure a lot of it was genuine interest in a potentially very useful and cost effective device.