Rev. Jesse Jackson targets Apple, Google, HP, others in tech racial diversity campaign

18910111214»

Comments

• Reply 261 of 271
    h2ph2p Posts: 329member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Phone-UI-Guy View Post

...You raise interesting points... Look at the new CFO as an example. 

Luca Maestri: over 25 years of experience

CFO of Xerox

CFO Nokia Siemens Networks

CFO European Operations General Motors.

Bachelor's in economics: Luiss University in Rome in 1988

Master's of science: Boston University in 1991

Board member of The Principal Financial Group.

How many minorities were making it through Bachelor's and Master's programs at this time? We are talking about people who were born in the late 1960's. You can imagine the challenges facing minorities at this time... As a side note, I work in tech and we have a pretty diverse workforce. However, the people will real ambition trying to get to upper management are almost all white and mostly male. This is not the people that have made it, but the people that are hell bent on getting there and working hard to make it happen. Just seems like everyone else is working hard to make a life and going for a grade increase or salary bump, but not the strong push upwards into director/VP/SVP territory. 

Thank you, Phone-UI-Guy. A well reasoned, convincing point you've made – that, for me, presents a true path to minority success, albeit in a generation.

I'll see if I can find the source material for the story about a school that requires all (or most) students to take a programming class in the 6th grade. Technology dependance is already here (especially with the Millennial Generation on down) – at least dip your toe in test the programming waters.