AI gets in on the action

Comments

• Reply 21 of 375
    Quote:

Originally posted by BRussell

[edit]I don't get this part:

My understanding is that the OS will have to be revised to some extent to run on this machine. So what does it mean to have a new OS "optimized" to run 64-bit? Are we going to have 64-bit window resizing or something? What in the OS itself has to be 64-bit, or will see any benefit from 64-bitness? [/B]

I'm sure someone has posted something like this somewhere, but I could see things like Quartz Extreme, and such being optimized for 64bit (ie. the fetching of 64 bits of window memory to do something with).

I haven't done much optimization in the programs I've worked on, but I could totally buy this..
  • Reply 22 of 375
    messiahmessiah Posts: 1,689member
    Do you believe me now?

Don't get too excited...

Don't want to say told you so, but...
  • Reply 23 of 375
    Quote:

Originally posted by pfflam

I am an engineerless-foo newbie, but won't there be a chance that the operating system will take advantage of 64 bit for 32bit programs?

No.
  • Reply 24 of 375
    bigcbigc Posts: 1,224member
    Well they lost my sale, not buying a single processor machine I don't care if it's 3 GHz.
  • Reply 25 of 375
    wfzellewfzelle Posts: 137member
    Quote:

Originally posted by pfflam

I am an engineerless-foo newbie, but won't there be a chance that the operating system will take advantage of 64 bit for 32bit programs?

A 64-bit OS can give every 32-bit program 4GB of real memory to work with. This is an advantage if you use multiple programs that use a lot of memory (they don't need to share 4GB). Of course, you can only take advantage of this by buying more than 4GB of ram.
  • Reply 26 of 375
    keyboardf12keyboardf12 Posts: 1,379member
    so buy a dual.

its not like 97% of the pc world uses a single processor...

\
  • Reply 27 of 375
    sc_marktsc_markt Posts: 1,402member
    About effin time!

This part...