Apple introduces 16GB iPhone, 32GB iPod touch models

Comments

• Reply 41 of 225
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by iextreme View Post

I'm kinda surprised by this and worried what it means for the launch of the new MacBook Pros and MacBooks.

While I'm no expert on Apple launch dates, this seems sort of unlike Apple to do, usually they upgrade their iPods all at once during the autumn...

Personally, I think 500 for the 32G is way to much, but if u keep in mind what they are charging for the SSD of 64Gb, it kinda makes since, but would still have been nice if the line would have seen a 50-100 price drop or if they just removed the 8G all together and replaced the 8G-16G, 16-32G at the same price points.

For me, now comes the question, do I really wanna fork out 500 for 32G, nothing lesser will do...

That is the question, isn't it? I've been stomping around saying I'll get the Touch when it's 32GB. Now I'm a tad sheepish, asking myself the old standard poor-man Mac Fan questions like, "Maybe I should wait until they put [name your feature]" so I can justify plunking down a cool half-grand.

Having said that, I'm still glad they responded to the apparently strong voice of the consumers who've asked for this (me included).
  • Reply 42 of 225
    solipsismsolipsism Posts: 25,726member
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Zandros View Post

I don't know, but it seems like Sony has to go through FCC revision for even a simple colour update. Also, I was under the impression that motherboards have to pass (self testing admittedly) FCC regulations, so it's not impossible that there are some regulations for memory, right? There was a Gigabyte motherboard that failed to meet the regulations, but still went to market.

I have to admit I'm not very familiar with the FCC though.

/Adrian

I think the breakdown shows the RF chips on a seperate chip. This would be smart if the FCC only requires the board with the RF chips on it.