Apple, Inc. gets its fingerprints on advanced touch sensor, appears difficult for Android to copy

Comments

• Reply 101 of 212

Quote:

Originally Posted by bdkennedy1 View Post

The Home button is too small to be a finger print reader. 

The fingerprint sensor on the Pantech in the photo above looks to be similar in size to the home button.

I'm no expert in the technology, so I couldn't say whether it can or cannot be done, this is merely speculation.

• Reply 102 of 212
    nikiloknikilok Posts: 383member

Quote:

Originally Posted by LAKings33 View Post

On a side note, the company Pantech has a fingerprint sensor on the back of their Vega LTE-A smartphone.

Dint you know that touch screens existed even before the iPhone that came in 2007 ?

I wonder why why all the touch oriented revolution started all over again :)

• Reply 103 of 212
    airbubbleairbubble Posts: 105member
    Finger Me!
  • Reply 104 of 212
    auxioauxio Posts: 2,728member

Quote:

Originally Posted by auxio View Post

And this is exactly why Silicon Valley has attracted more bright minds than NYC over the years.  Too much stock in veneer and not enough in substance.

On a side note, I do love NYC, but East Village and Brooklyn are more to my taste (at least, last time I was there).  Experiencing creativity and passion in music/art/culinary art/technology is what excites me (no matter what it's dressed up in).

• Reply 105 of 212
    jungmarkjungmark Posts: 6,926member
    nexusphan wrote: »
    Google+ auto-sign in already does this across the web and android eco system. Without the need for a gimmicky finger print reader. And I don't think android manufacturers look to Apple anymore. With 80% world market share, why would they?

Because Androiders can't help themselves as they need inspiration to do things correctly rather than slap features onto a phone.